The Italian Music Critics Association awards Kirill Petrenko

The Italian agency “ANSA” has reported that the Association of Critics for the concerts have awarded the “Abbiati” award to conductor Kirill Petrenko. He has been hailed as the best conductor of the year for concerts with the Santa Cecilia Orchestra and Choir and for the Concert with the Rai Orchestra of Turin. This decision was taken by the National Association of Italian Music Critics. In Rome, the principal conductor of the Berlin Philharmonic conducted Beethoven’s Symphony No. 9 on April 4, 5 and 6, 2019, with a vocal troupe formed by soprano Hanna-Elisabeth Muller, Okka von Damerau (contraralto), Benjamin Bruns ( tenor) and Hanno Müller-Brachmann (bass).

Before last year, a note from the National Academy said conductor Kirill Petrenko had conducted the Cecilian complexes in November 2010 at the Stravinsky Salm Symphony and at Shostakovich’s 7th Leningrad Symphony. In 2013, the Russian conductor was cemented in an unforgettable “Oro del Reno” on the 200th anniversary of Wagner’s birth.

Kirill Petrenko, born in Omsk, Siberia, is the main conductor of the Berliner Philharmonic for the 2019/2020 season. He has collaborated with the Wiener Volksperper, the Meininger Theater and the Komische Oper Berlin; He was appointed director of music for Bayerische Staatsoper for the period 2013-2020 and has been a guest conductor of Opera and Symphony Orchestras around the world.


Opernewelt magazine has called him “conductor of the year” for four years. He recently registered Symphony no. Tchaikovsky’s 6 for the Berliner

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

No Thanks
Thanks for signing up. You must confirm your email address before we can send you. Please check your email and follow the instructions.
We respect your privacy. Your information is safe and will never be shared.
Don't miss out. Subscribe today.
WordPress Popup
error: Sorry! You don\'t copy...