The legendary Metallica awarded with Polar Music prize

The Metallica Group are one of the most popular rock and multiple award-winning bands, confirming their legendary name. The group has received the Polar Music award from Sweden, represented by King Carl XVI Gustaf, a few days earlier. On stage to share the award were Ian Paice and Roger Glover from the group “Deep Purple”. Metallica and The Afghanistan National Institute of Music (ANIM) received the Polar Music Prize 2018 at a ceremony at the Grand Hôtel in Stockholm in June 2018. Metallica said they were proud to be considered as mainstream in music. With 37 years of activity, the band called this rating “as one of the most prestigious in the ranks of prizes given to musicians.” The money allocated to this price has been donated by the group to charity. In this case they receive $ 125,000 from the All Within My Hands Foundation, which deals with employment education, hunger strike and local services in poor areas. International Polar Music Awards were founded in 1989 by Stig “Stikkan” Anderson, ABBA Group Manager who is and co-author of many Nordic group hits. This appraisal recognizes extraordinary achievements in music. It is given to a contemporary musician and a classical musician every year. Paul McCartney, Ray Charles, Joni Mitchell, Bruce Springsteen, Stevie Wonder, Peter Gabriel, Paul Simon, Elton John. But this activity could not take place without a concert, and James Hetfield’s favorite Ghost band was chosen for this. They sang the famous “Enter Sandman” song of the Metallica band with members of the Candlemass band and duo Vargas & Lagola. Lonely Dear performed the same night, singing “No Leaf Clover” and “Wherefer I May Roam”. Further, they sang “Whiplash” by Dennis Lyxzen (Refused Soloist) and Mikkey Dee (former Scorpions and Motorhead group drummer). The prize was received by drummer Lars Ulrich and bassist Robert Trujillo. Larsi kept a thankful word. He also spoke about the other winner of this evening Dr. Ahmad Sarmast, founder of the National Institute of Music in Afghanistan. Host of the evening was Swedish mezzo-soprano and journalist Boel Adler. Lars Ulrich and Robert Trujillo from Metallica attended the event, as well as Dr Ahmad Sarmast, the founder of ANIM. Several artists honoured the Laureates during the evening; Aryana Sayeed, Loreen, Ghost, Candlemass, Vargas & Lagola, Moneybrother with Seek & Destroy, Dennis Lyxzén, Mikkey Dee, Lone dear and Tuva Syvertsen.

For more follow the time of the award:


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

No Thanks
Thanks for signing up. You must confirm your email address before we can send you. Please check your email and follow the instructions.
We respect your privacy. Your information is safe and will never be shared.
Don't miss out. Subscribe today.
WordPress Popup
error: Sorry! You don\'t copy...